HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: BuzzFeedVideo

Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

141328 ratings | 4763403 views
What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are. Credits: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415 Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu! https://youtube.com/thepsychshow Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo! https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1 https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet GET MORE BUZZFEED: https://www.buzzfeed.com https://www.buzzfeed.com/videos https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo https://www.youtube.com/asis https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedblue https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedviolet https://www.youtube.com/perolike https://www.youtube.com/ladylike BuzzFeedVideo BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily! To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo http://bit.ly/2JRRkKU Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: https://goo.gl/gQKF8m
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (7130)
Mila Schweiger (7 hours ago)
wait, so you discuss sociopathy and not use "Nightcrawler" movie?? shame, buzzfeed, shame
ya boy (7 hours ago)
0:17 i giggled like a little japanese school girl ans said "i milly rock"
Musa (9 hours ago)
tanned jordan peterson
gal merimovich (16 hours ago)
Yall, get someone to react to 'the road within'.
ØASIS (1 day ago)
I have ADHD...why am i watching this
watsonbitch (1 day ago)
For Bipolar Disorder they should have shown a clip of Ian from Shameless
Dr. Kerris Dillon (1 day ago)
Okay!!! YES! This is one of the best channels I have seen given psychology!!! I have taught psychology for the last 17 years and it is so nice to come across a channel with someone that understands mental illness so well! Thank you!!
Alexis Henry (1 day ago)
He blinks so much.
Colton Smith (2 days ago)
that guy said i would be really nervous around someone like that and that's his job
khristien Pennanen (2 days ago)
Pretty sure sociopaths dont exist
Russell Smith (2 days ago)
Be nervous around someone like that¿! Does he even realize how often hes arounds us¿!lol
Schangbang (3 days ago)
This guy is kind of an arrogant know it all. The way he says something is a bad representation is just completely un true. Theres so many different people all with a different extent of their mental illness and just cause certain things the actors did doesnt apply to what hes experienced with mental illnesses doesnt mean it's a bad representation.
J J (4 days ago)
I read this as "real psychopath reviews mental illness movies" and like, I'm halfway through this video & it's great, thr psychologist is great really,10/10..... BUT I'm gonna need yall to make that happen tysm
DJ Zarebear (4 days ago)
why does this dude look like a darker-skinned Jeff Kaplan
DavGP1208 (5 days ago)
Sherlock was nothing like a psychopath tho
Hairy Pancake (5 days ago)
I’m disappointed that shutter island is not here
intan ebeey (5 days ago)
i have schizophrenia, my only visual delusion is this guy wearing big hat, eumm like magician hat with big smile. the weird thing is he only appear when i stressed out. it is terrifying, yeah. but eventually i get used to it. he was just standing there, smiling.
Dani Jokilehto (6 days ago)
the sideshot camera-man should be fired, couldn't concentrate on anything else than the shot moving costantly.
marit k 040 (6 days ago)
this seems fake
theRanter (6 days ago)
I thought it was "real psychopath" instead of psychologist.
TheMarKus (6 days ago)
This guy has good person disorder
TheMarKus (6 days ago)
Do real superhero’s review marvel universe
Jevilz (6 days ago)
He is so sympathetic <3
Sabina Ernest (6 days ago)
Where is the Borderline one!!!!
Lady Haha (7 days ago)
"they don't have to be KILLERS..." me: "HUH?" ... (sips tea)
Yemen Adil (7 days ago)
I loved it. Suggesting movies, “Girl, interrupted”, “Shutter Island”
Jennifer Parks (7 days ago)
I hope that guy really has diabetes, even if it’s not just that one of his personalities. Taking insulin when you don’t have diabetes will kill you...
Lily B (7 days ago)
Him and antoni look alike kinda
kai kai (7 days ago)
Real Psychologist react to "The Glass" Movie
Jack Larkin (8 days ago)
Real police and investigators review csi in movies.
Djamila D (8 days ago)
Why is the first one with my baby?!?!?!?!
Tim Tong (9 days ago)
Ok he blinks way too much
DanceMoms Queen (9 days ago)
I have watched almost all of these. Except for the good palve and the last movie I don't remember the name of. Sherlock is my favorite show EVER, the silver lining was beautiful imo and I love how Iron Man 3 concentrated so much on Stark's emotions and anxiety. Just kinda disappointed there is no Shameless here. You can literally find every mental illness on that show (especially Ian Gallagher, he has bipolar disorder)
nuglet spaghet (9 days ago)
aah I hoped he would react to jason dean from heathers
Miché _ (10 days ago)
Bendict cucumber did a great job
Struggleville (10 days ago)
Why am i all of this? Edit: BESIDES A MURDERER.. Unless I gotta pull a fast one 🤷🏾‍♂️
Dead head (11 days ago)
you guys should have put the heath ledger performance in the dark knight in this
Rochelle N (11 days ago)
Next video: Real Mental Illness reviews psychologist in movies
Cat Riley (11 days ago)
Please do a police officer reacting to Brooklyn Nine Nine!!
King Em (11 days ago)
What’s the next one a murderer reviews movie killings
Gaming Man (12 days ago)
i love how the laptop logo on the back it says "bruh" lol
LG48212 (12 days ago)
I know psychology and im 12 when i first knew it i was 10 or 9 but i am still very very very good at psychology.
sarah tizuka (13 days ago)
That's awesome
John Agudelo (14 days ago)
Part 2 please
Drew Rycerz (16 days ago)
Do you have any idea how hard it is to get help here in Canada? It's ridiculous.
vince gomez (16 days ago)
where is Mercury Rising? Old movie , but i want its breakdown
Holt The Rockstar (17 days ago)
SPLIT IS NOT ACCURATE.
Mery Abdullayeva (17 days ago)
*I see Sherlock I click*
Marlin Pillay (18 days ago)
Wow this psychology stuff is such pseudoscience
Emily Medina (18 days ago)
BRO THAT BABY SCENE JUST STABBED MY HEART 😭😭
Sherlock Ruined Me (19 days ago)
*sees Sherlock* *I cLicK*
Peyton's Playlists (21 days ago)
As a relative of multiple autistic people rain man clip was pretty okay.
Michael Farrell (21 days ago)
Aww I was hoping Dexter would be included
FancyxToast (21 days ago)
"I love marvel movies, and iron man 3 is one of my favorites" gtfo...
Foch 155 (21 days ago)
you forgot the "high functioning" part for sherlock
Sayyidah Khairiyah (22 days ago)
Please invite Twoset Violin to review movies with violin playing in it!
a l (22 days ago)
Sighs.....
Seth R.C (24 days ago)
Shlock is slightly Autistic. I like that
Peppon (24 days ago)
I was really hoping for Shutter Island to be on here
_ky.houston_ (24 days ago)
I LOVE SHERLOCK. I mean it’s not a movie, though. haha
Jkobe (25 days ago)
Guy: this movie really shows how people has schistofrenia aren't necessarily violent Me: I literally just watched this dude almost drown a baby..
Meme (25 days ago)
Buzzfeed isn’t bad when they don’t talk about politics
Pimdici (25 days ago)
I still want to make a video about my schizofrenia and psychoses but i am afraid of the reactions.
issac clarke (25 days ago)
Damn nicole is that you
B L A N K (25 days ago)
he kind of sounds like Jeff Kaplan
Amber Booton (25 days ago)
The whole time watching Sherlock all I could think was... “You’re not a sociopath, Sherlock... look how emotionalllll you areeeee ughhhhh”
Pascal Simioli (26 days ago)
"Iron Man 3 is one my favorite Marvel movies" Yep that's a sociopath right there...
Siri Izora (26 days ago)
0:17 “ I milky rock”
andre monteiro (27 days ago)
Its hard to belive that cenes off the joker on the dark Knight (Batman) didn't showed up... Anyway awesome vídeo 😉
Abel1120 conlget (27 days ago)
hail Trump... hail our people 🇨🇳
Shrestha Bageshwar (28 days ago)
MATTU is literally my nickname
Trustin Dean (28 days ago)
I feel like Iron Man didn't quite get past his PTSD and more just learned how to deal with it and prevent random breakdowns, bc hes still visibly anxious anytime someone gets hurt as a result of his inaction which goes back to how he is entirely motivated by the invasion force he saw in space mixed with Scarlet Witch's vision she gave him
Christopher Haynes (28 days ago)
Thank you for pointing out people with mental illness are much more likely to be victims of violence than the perpetuators of it.
Georgi Ion (29 days ago)
Yes!! Educating the world on mental illnesses! Thank you!
manoj sahu (1 month ago)
8:28 this what you came here for. You can thank me in comments 😂
Jesha (1 month ago)
I hadn't watched a beautiful mind and that bathtub scene made me gasp so loudly
aNiMeAddiCtZ26 (1 month ago)
Aww I would have loved it if you included Charlie's breakdown scene from The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Asaiiku (1 month ago)
« iron man 3 is my favorite » Bye
Diego Burnham (1 month ago)
He really likes to blink
D .C (1 month ago)
As he spoke about antisocial personal disorders, it strongly reminded me of an ex. The ex faked a bond for me since they were in need of a caretaker. Well I shouldn't say faked since my ex was reliant upon care. I myself have mental illness. I am curious on Dr. Mattu's take about how movies represent BPD.
RAYA LUNA (1 month ago)
*his hands are pretty*
RAYA LUNA (1 month ago)
*he blinks too often*
RAYA LUNA (1 month ago)
*he has good skin*
Zebun Nahar (1 month ago)
Iron Man 3 is your favourite marvel movie😲😲😲 Seriously!!!! Not disgreeing the fact that it did represent mental illness really well
WillMauz (1 month ago)
... I'm glad I got help for my bipolar and PTSD and dysthymia.... and anxiety and depression. ....... but a lot of movies make folks likeme out to be nucking futs, and we aren't.
Kris Silver (1 month ago)
If you want some good examples on mental illness, just check the Youtube comment sections
Kyle Olson (1 month ago)
Goal Directed Activity - way too much of my life.
nida ul (1 month ago)
Wow I've watched all of those movies and I really love all of them especially A Beautiful Mind and Sherlock! I love his reviews, definitely giving me new insights about my favorite topic (psychology and mental illness)! He sounds so intelligent I wish I could talk like that haha
Aman Walia (1 month ago)
Damn so i had my English exam and the was this novel(the invisible man)of mad scientist and the was this question in the exam that explain how this scientist failed as human and son I criticised him but i also wrote a paragraph on how it wasn't just his fault but of the ones around him
Brandon Lucus (1 month ago)
A beautiful mind was based on a true story so....
J Mason (1 month ago)
Brandon Lucus apparently he didn't suffer from visual hallucinations only audio.
Dominic Wade Mccain (1 month ago)
Did you just say ironman 3 is one of your favorite marvel movies? Hold this L
Love진드기 (1 month ago)
I think I have seen u in CSI NY ?
Ayala The Black Lynx (1 month ago)
Who else read "Real Psychopath Reviews Mental Illness In Movies? Don't lie, I know you read that. *I know you did.*
PaintedBleu (1 month ago)
He blinks aaa loooot
Layla Alsayed (1 month ago)
The only reason i clicked is to see what he has to say about sherlock 😊😊
Aidanator300 (1 month ago)
Better than the Good Doctor
Chicago Chicken (1 month ago)
I’ll give you a 🤗 hug
Gg Gg (1 month ago)
i dont now but his face is like just fit right to medical field
Naylte (1 month ago)
What's the distinction between Dissociative Identity Disorder and Multiple Personality Disorder?
Julia Hennessy (1 month ago)
They're the same thing. DID became the new term for it instead though some refer to it still as MPD.
NotDeadJustYet (1 month ago)
I really wish he'd commented on the fact that people with DID having an evil alter is really rare, if even existing at all. that's the part of Split that hurts most people with DID.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.